University of Denver

Alaska Justice for All Grant Recipient

In November 2016, Alaska was awarded a grant under the Justice for All Project. The grants support each state awardee in forming partnerships with all relevant stakeholders in the civil justice community and to develop state assessments and strategic action plans to implement Resolution 5. Resolution 5, passed by the Conference of Chief Justices and the Conference of State Court Administrators, supports the goal of 100 percent access to effective assistance for essential civil legal needs and urges the National Center for State Courts as well as other national organizations to develop tools and provided assistance to states in achieving the goal of 100 percent access through a continuum of meaningful and appropriate services. Furthermore, the project seeks to enhance the commitment of the states to reimagine how to work across organizational boundaries and optimize resources to advance access to justice for all.

On December 22, 2017, the Alaska Court System’s Access to Justice Committee completed its Strategic Action Plan and now looks forward to the implementation phase of the Initiative.  Alaska’s plan focuses on several objectives. One goal is community outreach through the education of available legal services in the medical and social services fields. Alaska plans to expand the capacity of legal providers via legal access software to address unmet legal needs. The state is working to build a justice “ecosystem” by connecting legal providers and non-legal providers, as well as engaging with law schools, law firms, and the bar association. Alaska is dedicated to testing and evaluating this approach in debt collection cases.  Alaska will create new website content for debt cases, review court rules for changes to promote fairness and participation, and pilot SoloSuit software to help pro se debtors.

This project is supported by the Public Welfare Foundation and housed at the National Center for State Courts.

Other grant recipients include: Colorado, Georgia, Hawaii, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New York, Kentucky, New Mexico, Montana, and Florida.

Click here to return to the map.