University of Denver


March, 2013

March 27, 2013 to March 29, 2013
IAALS, in collaboration with the Federalist Society for Law and Public Policy Studies and the Aspen Institute Justice & Society Program, sponsored “An Uncommon Dialogue” about judicial selection.

October, 2012

October 11, 2012
IAALS' Rebuilding Justice Award honors individuals who exemplify the spirit of innovation that we champion across all of our work. This year, IAALS recognizes Professor Moliterno, from Washington and Lee University School of Law, because of his leadership in incorporating the Carnegie Model into his own teaching and in sharing his expertise across the academy.

September, 2012

1st Annual Educating Tomorrow's Lawyers Conference
September 27, 2012 to September 29, 2012
Educating Tomorrow’s Lawyers hosted its first annual conference, The Development of Professional Identity in Legal Education: Rethinking Learning and Assessment , at the University of Denver Sturm College of Law. This was a working conference of two-three person teams from the participating ETL consortium schools. It focused on developing expertise around the formation of professional identity in legal education.
The New Landscape of Innovation
September 20, 2012 to September 21, 2012
IAALS hosted its Third Civil Justice Reform Summit in September 2012. With a wealth of data from state and federal jurisdictions that are experimenting with innovative case management strategies and new rules of civil procedure, this Summit focused on the landscape of innovation and how lawyers, judges, court personnel, and academics can further advance innovative solutions.

August, 2012

August 10, 2012
IAALS assembled a panel of experts at the National Governors Association’s Management Seminar for Governors’ Legal Counsels to discuss the importance of judicial appointments to a governor’s legacy and the value of using a nominating commission to fulfill this responsibility.

June, 2012

June 22, 2012 to June 23, 2012
In June 2012, IAALS hosted a two-day Summit on e-discovery, including separate sessions for practitioners and state court judges. On Friday, June 22, DISH Network L.L.C. co-sponsored a “Best in Class” eDiscovery Summit for practitioners. On Saturday, June 23rd, IAALS presented a state court judges-only eDiscovery Boot Camp, co-sponsored by the Colorado State Court Administrator’s Office.

May, 2012

May 22, 2012 to May 23, 2012
IAALS hosted and staffed the federal judicial screening committee established by Colorado Senators Mark Udall and Michael Bennet to screen applicants and recommend potential nominees for a vacancy on the U.S. District Court for Colorado.
May 2, 2012
IAALS participated in a panel discussion that included a history and overview of the Colorado merit selection system, how it compares to other systems nationally, and ethical dilemmas and challenges when litigating in states with other judicial selection systems.

February, 2012

February 12, 2012
IAALS assembled a diverse group of stakeholders, including representatives of the plaintiff and defense bars, citizens involved in judicial nominating and evaluating processes, representatives from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches, members of the business community, and non-profit leaders, to identify the desired attributes of individual judges and court systems.

October, 2011

October 27, 2011
In October 2011, IAALS recognized three federal judges as the 2011 recipients of the Fifth Annual Transparent Courthouse® Award (now the Rebuilding Justice Award). The Honorable Mark R. Kravitz, the Honorable Lee H. Rosenthal, and the Honorable John G. Koeltl have provided leadership in the federal courts for the benefit of litigants for years, and have been at the forefront of efforts to reform civil rules to make cases move more efficiently through the system.

August, 2011

August 11, 2011
This national conference considered ways to improve existing processes for evaluating the performance of appellate judges and for informing voters about evaluation results. Chief Justice Mark Cady of the Iowa Supreme Court was the featured speaker.

October, 2010

October 21, 2010
In October 2010, IAALS hosted more than 100 guests, Board members, and friends of the Institute for our fourth annual award dinner (now the Rebuilding Justice Award Dinner). This year's recipients of the Transparent Courthouse® Award were Nevada Senator William J. Raggio, Nevada Assembly Speaker Barbara E. Buckley, and former Ohio Supreme Court Chief Justice Thomas J. Moyer, posthumously.