University of Denver

Minnesota Justice for All Grant Recipient

In November 2016, Minnesota was awarded a grant under the Justice for All Project. The grants support each state awardee in forming partnerships with all relevant stakeholders in the civil justice community and to develop state assessments and strategic action plans to implement Resolution 5. Resolution 5, passed by the Conference of Chief Justices and the Conference of State Court Administrators. Supports the goal of 100 percent access to effective assistance for essential civil legal needs and urges the National Center for State Courts as well as other national organizations to develop tools and provided assistance to states in achieving the goal of 100 percent access through a continuum of meaningful and appropriate services. Furthermore, the project seeks to enhance the commitment of the states to reimagine how to work across organizational boundaries and optimize resources to advance access to justice for all.

In December 2017, Minnesota completed its Strategic Action Plan: Minnesota Justice For All Project and now looks forward to the implementation phase of the Initiative. To assess the justice needs, Minnesota convened a 12-person steering committee with members from the courts, legal aid, and the state bar. It held 10 outreach sessions with approximately 60 relevant stakeholders. Minnesota developed five strategic goals. First, simplify family law court processes to increase efficiency and trust/confidence in the process. Second, increase the number of attorneys available for limited scope representation. Third, create a system to access legal information, self-help resources, and legal providers. Fourth, disseminate legal information and resources to the community to prevent housing evictions. Fifth, increase communication across governance structures to implement Justice for All projects. The state also plans to train judges to work better with self-represented litigants.

This project is supported by the Public Welfare Foundation and housed at the National Center for State Courts.

Other grant recipients include: Alaska, Colorado, Georgia, Hawaii, Massachusetts, New York, Kentucky, New Mexico, Montana, and Florida.

Click here to return to the map.