University of Denver

Rebuilding Justice Award Dinner

The IAALS Rebuilding Justice Award recognizes individuals who exemplify the spirit of innovation and leadership that we champion as we work toward building a legal system that is accessible, fair, reliable, efficient, and accountable.

The first recipient of the IAALS Rebuilding Justice Award was United States Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O’Connor (Ret.) in 2007. IAALS has given the award to chief justices of state supreme courts, legislators, federal district court judges, legal educators, and philanthropists. Formerly, the honor was known as the Transparent Courthouse Award.



  • Margaret Hagan
  • Chief Justice Mark Cady (posthumously), Iowa Supreme Court


  • The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation
  • Columbia Law School
  • University of Denver Sturm College of Law
  • Northwestern Pritzker School of Law
  • Seattle University School of Law


  • The Conference of Chief Justices


  • El Pomar Foundation, William J. Hybl, and Kyle H. Hybl



  • American College of Trial Lawyers Task Force on Discovery and Civil Justice


  • Chief Justice Michael L. Bender (Ret.), Colorado Supreme Court
  • Chancellor Robert D. Coombe, University of Denver


  • James E. Moliterno, Vincent Bradford Professor of Law, Washington and Lee University School of Law


  • Judge Mark R. Kravitz, United States District Court for the District of Connecticut
  • Judge Lee H. Rosenthal, United States District Court for the Southern District of Texas, Houston Division
  • Judge John G. Koeltl, United States District Court for the Southern District of New York


  • Nevada Senator William J. Raggio
  • Nevada Assembly Speaker Barbara E. Buckley
  • Chief Justice Thomas J. Moyer (posthumously), Ohio Supreme Court


  • Chief Justice John Broderick, Jr., New Hampshire Supreme Court


  • Chief Justice Christine Durham, Utah Supreme Court


  • Justice Sandra Day O'Connor (Ret.), United States Supreme Court